Folder AVG Forums » Archive » Archive » AVG Free » AVG 2011 Free Edition » AVG Update » AVG Update Tonight Crashed Both My Desktop And Laptop
Page 1 of 10 1234››
December 2, 2010 01:31 AVG Update Tonight Crashed Both My Desktop And Laptop #132305
Reply with Quote | Quick Reply | Top
SpyderGurlTX

Junior
I received a message from AVG program that system needed to be rebooted in order to complete update on my laptop, which runs Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit, and also the same reboot message for system on my new laptop which runs Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. Upon reboot, both my systems have crashed and a software / hardware windows error comes up. I can't even load in Safe Mode, as the machine just reboots itself. I also tried loading last good known configuration.

I'm not a computer expert by any means, but I know the update caused both my systems to crash. I was able to recover my laptop using system restore, but still have not been able to recover my desktop. I work from home, and I'm VERY upset as I now don't know if I'll be able to log in tomorrow.

Can anyone tell me if they are having the same issues? I've checked work IT department and they have not heard anyone having issues yet, but they have made note to look out for it.
December 2, 2010 01:39 Re: AVG Update Tonight Crashed Both My Desktop And Laptop #132309
BIG AL 43

I work from home.. I've checked work IT department

Just to clarify a point in passing.... I hope you are not using AVG Free on a system in conjunction with a business or for financial gain.... Just for your info this is the standard info. on the AVG Technologies website.... AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition is for private, non-commercial, single home computer use only. Use of AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition within any organization or for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

AVG Free Volunteer ModeratorAVG Free Forum member since - Nov. 27, 2004My total posts on the Old AVG Free Forum - 27,063
Alan
How-To articles | FAQ