Folder AVG Forums » Archive » Archive » AVG 9.0 Free Edition » Locked Files etc When Scanning
January 14, 2010 11:31 Locked Files etc When Scanning #57471
Reply with Quote | Quick Reply | Top
jasneymacsmallpiece

Novice
Whenever I full scan it comes up with a very very long list of "locked files not tested" including things like the recycle bins. Plus two or three that contains macros. It rarely finds any infections or whatever. Is this normal and does it matter ? I'm pretty new to all this and am not inclined to buy any full version until I can properly use and understand this free one. I really need help please...regards Jas
January 14, 2010 11:56 Re: Locked Files etc When Scanning #57473
BIG AL 43

If you are seeing the error message "Locked file. Not tested." this link from the "Old Forum" may assist you....

Posted by: jzygala (IP Logged)
Date: July 28, 2008 07:16PM

It would also appear that you have requested the additional scan report for locked files. Otherwise I believe these items would not be showing up. I have never used the option, so cannot speak from experience.

To see the setting for a manual scan, select "Change scan settings" under Scan whole computer on the Computer scanner page. Select "Set additional scan reports..." on the next dialog screen. You will see a bunch of options, one of which is to report locked files. If this was set inadvertently, you can uncheck it.

The same option is available for schedule scans.

AVG Free Volunteer ModeratorAVG Free Forum member since - Nov. 27, 2004My total posts on the Old AVG Free Forum - 27,063
Alan

January 14, 2010 11:59 Re: Locked Files etc When Scanning #57479
ondraploteny

Administrator
Hi,

some information about locked files could be found at this Knowledge Base 2677 - http://free.avg.com/cz-en/faq.num-2677#faq_2677

Thanks
***************AVG Team
January 19, 2010 10:24 Re: Locked Files etc When Scanning #58643
jasneymacsmallpiece

Novice