Folder AVG Forums » Other topics » Virus Removal, Tools for Removing » HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\\AVP Help Please!!
April 4, 2011 11:10 HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\\AVP Help Please!! #155621
Reply with Quote | Quick Reply | Top
Kat in the hat

Novice
Hi i am not very technical so need some help! every time i run a scan of my computer with AVG this warning come up :
"";"HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\\AVP";"Found Adware.Generic";"Potentially dangerous object"

i have tried to remove it but it says i am not the power user, i looked this up and i should be as i am the administrater of the computer, it just says access denied. i have no idea what this thing is that has been detected or how to remove it. i dont even know if its a virus or whatever!! i need some help of how to remove it from my computer as i have noticed that it has been lagging alot recently.

please if anyone can help id be very grateful!
April 4, 2011 17:14 Re: HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\\AVP Help Please!! #155695
dusano123

Hello Kat in the hat,

Please try to use registry editor and navigate to following key manually:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\

Look for entry named AVP and delete it.
If it is not possible to delete, edit the permissions of the entry. Add Full Control for EVERYONE group and remove all other groups.

Should you still need more assistance with removal, provide us with registry export or \Run\ key.

Thank you
___________________AVG TeamHow-To articles | FAQ
December 11, 2011 17:09 Re: HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\\AVP Help Please!! #184207
Areianos

Novice
Adware.generic..